10 May 2023

Golf champions crowned at Weipa and Cooktown

| Matt Nicholls
Start the conversation

Carpentaria Golf Club’s champions for 2022 – Luke Wheeler, Viv Chan, Dave Morgan, Vicki Molloy and Conor Napiorkowski.

CAPE York’s two golf clubs have crowned their champions for 2022, as well as their May monthly medal winners.

At Weipa, the Carpentaria Golf Club championships are played over four rounds across two weekends.

Back-to-back Saturday and Sunday rounds are a great test for golfers, but always put a strain on availability in the shift-working mining town.

Luke Wheeler was a worthy winner, saving his best round until last to be the A-grade men’s champion.

He held off Ross Craven by eight strokes.

Dave Morgan claimed the men’s B-grade championship from Dale “Dasha” Holmquest, while C-grade went to Conor Napiorkowski.

In the women’s events, just two were in the A-grade field, with Viv Chan pipping Helen Sabatino by two strokes.

Vicki Molloy was the B-grade women’s champ, beating Sharon Gardiner.

The nett winners were just about the same, with Gardiner reversing the result in the women’s B-grade. The C-grade nett runner-up was Jeff Watson.

Sunday’s round was also the May monthly medal and the winners were Wheeler in A-grade, Jay Murray in B-grade and Jerrod Byrne in C-grade.

Across the Peninsula at Cooktown, the club championships were played across three consecutive Saturdays, with the best two scores counting towards the result.

Some golfers played all three rounds, while others were only able to play two.

Sam Godfrey-Roberts was the A-grade winner, but it was the performance of John McArthur that had people talking.

The much-improved golfer was only six shots off the overall champ and was a clear winner of B-grade.

He also picked up the monthly medal, cleaned up the cash event and will win the Race to the Bay wet season title.

Laurie Downs held off a hard-charging Aaron Hobbs to claim the C-grade title.

Alice Burton was the only woman in the field and claimed the championship for her division by default – but still much deserved!

The seniors title went to Paul Sperring.

Start the conversation

Cape York Weekly

Subscribe to get the latest edition of Cape York Weekly in your inbox each Monday.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Cape York Weekly's terms and conditions and privacy policy.